Conan - Robert E. Howard


By Robert E. Howard

  • Release Date: 2016-12-24
  • Genre: Short Stories
Score: 5
From 22 Ratings


Revised and updated edition with custom illustrations!

Join Conan on his many adventures from mercenary and thief to king as he smites demons, fights wizards, battles against all odds, journeys to exotic lands, loves and lusts, uncovers hidden mysteries, and always refuses to yield!

This epic collection contains 18 of Robert E. Howard's stories about Conan the Barbarian.
These stories were originally published in Weird Tales magazine between 1933 and 1936.

The Conan stories included in the collection are:

1. The Frost Giant's Daughter (Gods of the North)
2. The Tower of the Elephant
3. Rogues in the House
4. Shadows in the Moonlight (Iron Shadows in the Moon)
5. Black Colossus
6. Queen of the Black Coast
7. The Slithering Shadow (Xuthal of the Dusk)
8. A Witch Shall Be Born
9. The Devil in Iron
10. The People of the Black Circle
11. Shadows in Zamboula (Man-Eaters of Zamboula)
12. The Pool of the Black One
13. Beyond the Black River
14. Red Nails
15. Jewels of Gwahlur (The Teeth of Gwahlur)
16. The Phoenix on the Sword
17. The Scarlet Citadel
18. The Hour of the Dragon (Conan the Conqueror)

As an added bonus, also included in the set are:

Cimmeria—A Poem
The Hyborian Age—Conan's World (This is Howard's background essay on the world of Conan)

For ease of navigation, the anthology includes an interactive table of contents.
The stories in this collection are ordered roughly in chronological order from Conan's first adventures as a young mercenary adventurer and thief to his final epic clashes as a king and are based on the Rippke chronology.

About Conan:
Conan the Barbarian (also known as Conan the Cimmerian) is a fictional sword and sorcery hero who originated in pulp fiction magazines and has since been adapted to books, comics, several films (including Conan the Barbarian and Conan the Destroyer), television programs (cartoon and live-action), video games, role-playing games and other media. The character was created by writer Robert E. Howard in 1932 via a series of fantasy stories published in Weird Tales magazine.

Conan the Character:
Conan is a Cimmerian. From Robert E. Howard's writings (The Hyborian Age among others) it is known that the Cimmerians were based on the Celts or Gaels. He was born on a battlefield and is the son of a village blacksmith. Conan matured quickly as a youth and, by age fifteen, he was already a respected warrior who had participated in the destruction of the Aquilonian outpost of Venarium. After its demise, he was struck by wanderlust and began the adventures chronicled by Howard, encountering skulking monsters, evil wizards, tavern wenches, and beautiful princesses. He roamed throughout the Hyborian Age nations as a thief, outlaw, mercenary, and pirate. As he grew older, he began commanding larger units of men and escalating his ambitions. In his forties, he seized the crown of the tyrannical king of Aquilonia, the most powerful kingdom of the Hyborian Age, having strangled the previous ruler on the steps of the throne. Conan's adventures often result in him performing heroic feats, though his motivation for doing so is largely to protect his own survival or for personal gain.