TORAH - Bilingual Edition: English/Hebrew - Max Margolis & JPS

TORAH - Bilingual Edition: English/Hebrew

By Max Margolis & JPS

  • Release Date: 2021-03-01
  • Genre: Judaism


Torah presents the first five books of the Hebrew Bible, also known as Pentateuch or Five Books of Moses. The Torah starts from the beginning of God's creating the world, through the beginnings of the people of Israel, their descent into Egypt, and the giving of the Torah at biblical Mount Sinai. It ends with the death of Moses, just before the people of Israel cross to the promised land of Canaan. Interspersed in the narrative are the specific teachings given explicitly or implicitly embedded in the narrative. In Hebrew, the five books of the Torah are identified by the incipits in each book; and the common English names for the books are derived from the Greek Septuagint and reflect the essential theme of each book:
Bəreshit —Genesis, meaning "Creation"
Shəmot —Exodus, meaning "Exit"
Vayikra —Leviticus, meaning "Relating to the Levites"
Bəmidbar —Numbers
Dəvarim —Deuteronomy, meaning "Second-Law"