The Prisoner - B A Paris

The Prisoner

By B A Paris

  • Release Date: 2022-11-01
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 4
4
From 208 Ratings

Description

With Behind Closed Doors, New York Times bestselling author B. A. Paris took the psychological thriller to shocking new heights. Now she’ll hold you captive with THE PRISONER—a stunning new thriller about one woman wed into a family with deadly intentions.

A USA Today Bestseller!

Amelie has always been a survivor, from losing her parents as a child in Paris to making it on her own in London. As she builds a life for herself, she is swept up into a glamorous lifestyle where she married the handsome billionaire Ned Hawthorne.

But then, Amelie wakes up in a pitch-black room, not knowing where she is. Why has she been taken? Who are her mysterious captors? And why does she soon feel safer here, imprisoned, than she had begun to feel with her husband Ned?

In the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Therapist, multimillion-copy bestseller B. A. Paris is back with a gripping new suspense novel.

Reviews

  • Too many loose ends & not enough thrill

    2
    By Lauren B in WV
    Definitely not my favorite book from B.A. Paris. Separated into two parts, “The Prisoner” follows the unlikely marriage of an orphan to an infamous millionaire. I felt part one of the book, detailing the Hawthorpes’ kidnapping, was tedious & drawn out entirely too long. I kept waiting on more to happen, but the kidnapping it turns out, was something of a dud. Ending it with millionaire Ned Hawthorpe’s staged suicide was predictable & not a shock to the reader at all. Meanwhile, the second part was far-fetched to the point it bordered on fantasy. Amelie tracking down her kidnapper, who she discovered faked his own death, only to seem to fall in love with him, was too fantastical for words. We were also not given clarity on the true identity of the real identity of the mysterious Mr. Smith or just how deeply attorney Paul Carr was involved in the entire plot. Ned’s father Jethro also disappeared early in part two & never resurfaced. Just too many loose ends & not enough thrill for me.
  • I liked this book very much until the middle of the story started becoming not believable.

    2
    By Rebec49
    I’m not sure why I finished reading the book. The last few chapters read like a police report detailing all the twists and unlikely turns the story made. Disappointed
  • I paid for the full book…

    1
    By Delilah Dowd
    Why did I pay 14.99 for only 6 chapters?!