Wintersmith - Terry Pratchett


By Terry Pratchett

  • Release Date: 2009-10-06
  • Genre: Fantasy for Young Adults
Score: 4.5
From 149 Ratings


ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice * ALA Notable Children's Book

“Pratchett’s unique blend of comedy and articulate insight is at its vibrant best. Full of rich humor, wisdom, and eventfulness.” —Horn Book (starred review)

By the beloved and bestselling grandmaster of fantasy, Sir Terry Pratchett, this is the third in a series of Discworld novels starring the young witch Tiffany Aching.

When the Spirit of Winter takes a fancy to Tiffany Aching, he wants her to stay in his gleaming, frozen world. Forever. It will take all the young witch's skill and cunning, as well as help from the legendary Granny Weatherwax and the irrepressible Wee Free Men, to survive until Spring.

Because if Tiffany doesn't make it to Spring, Spring won't come for anyone.

The five funny and fabulous Tiffany Aching adventures are:
The Wee Free MenA Hat Full of SkyWintersmithI Shall Wear MidnightThe Shepherd’s Crown
Tiffany’s mentors, Granny Weatherwax and Nanny Ogg, star in the novels Equal Rites, Wyrd Sisters, Witches Abroad, Lords and Ladies, Maskerade, and Carpe Jugulum.

And don’t miss Terry Pratchett’s hilarious and wise Discworld novel The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents! 


  • A True Joy To Read

    By OCHittman
    If you haven't taken one if Terry Pratchett's books off the shelf then you owe it to yourself to read his work. Whether any of the Discworld books or the tales of Tiffany Aching, he crafts a wonderful story that is delightful, moving and a fast read. These books are not well written but written well. The Wintersmith is the third of four books (up to now) about the witch-in-training. Start with Wee Free Men, then A Hat Full of Sky, Wintersmith and end with I Shall Wear Midnight. You won't be disappointed!