Harvard Classics Volume 35 - Charles W. Eliot

Harvard Classics Volume 35

By Charles W. Eliot

  • Release Date: 2012-06-28
  • Genre: History


*Includes a Table of Contents
*Illustrated with images of the authors and characters in the story
The Harvard Classics series is an incredible collection of the most important literary works, compiled by Charles Eliot (1834 – 1926), then president of Harvard University.  Eliot stated that a liberal arts education could be supplemented by reading 15 minutes a day from classic works stored on a five foot shelf.  For this reason, the series is also known as the Five Foot Shelf. 
Volume 35 contains works about medieval England, including the well known Chronicles of Froissart, part of Sir Thomas Malory’s King Arthur, and a description of Elizabethan England by William Harrison that provides a comprehensive view of British society and politics during the reign of Queen Elizabeth I. This edition of Volume 35 contains over a dozen pictures of Elizabeth, original pictures of the Chronicles of Froissart, and more. A table of contents is also included for easier navigation.