The Marcus Aurelius Anthology - Marcus Aurelius

The Marcus Aurelius Anthology

By Marcus Aurelius

  • Release Date: 2012-11-28
  • Genre: Philosophy
Score: 4
From 9 Ratings


Marcus Aurelius was Emperor of Rome from 161 AD until 180 AD, and is remembered as the last of the "Five Good Emperors", and also one of the most important of the "Stoic" school of philosophers.

"Meditations" was originally titled "To Myself", and was not intended to be made widely read, but was rather written by Marcus Aurelius for his own edification. It was written in Greek whilst on Campaign between 170 and 180, and is still revered as a literary monument to the ideas of service and duty.

Over the years the book has been listed as a favourite by public figures as diverse as Frederick the Great, Goethe, John Stewart Mill, Bill Clinton and Wen Jiabao.

This unexpurgated anthology has been compiled by and optimised for e-readers. It includes an active table of contents for ease of navigation, and features unique illustrations as frontispieces for the individual books in the anthology.