Everything's Fine - Cecilia Rabess

Everything's Fine

By Cecilia Rabess

  • Release Date: 2023-06-06
  • Genre: Fiction & Literature
Score: 4
4
From 36 Ratings

Description

“Extraordinarily brave...plain funny as hell, too.” —Zakiya Dalila Harris, New York Times bestselling author of The Other Black Girl

“A subtle, ironic, wise, state-of-the-nation novel, sharp enough to draw blood, hidden inside a moving, intimate, sincere and very real love story--or vice versa.” —Nick Hornby

On Jess’s first day at Goldman Sachs, she’s less than thrilled to learn she’ll be on the same team as Josh, her white, conservative sparring partner from college. Josh loves playing the devil’s advocate and is just…the worst.

But when Jess finds herself the sole Black woman on the floor, overlooked and underestimated, it’s Josh who shows up for her in surprising—if imperfect—ways. Before long, an unlikely friendship—one tinged with undeniable chemistry—forms between the two. A friendship that gradually, and then suddenly, turns into an electrifying romance that shocks them both.

Despite their differences, the force of their attraction propels the relationship forward, and Jess begins to question whether it’s more important to be happy than right. But then it’s 2016, and the cultural and political landscape shifts underneath them. And Jess, who is just beginning to discover who she is and who she has the right to be, is forced to ask herself what she’s willing to compromise for love and whether, in fact, everything’s fine.

A stunning debut that introduces Cecilia Rabess as a blazing new talent, Everything’s Fine is a poignant and sharp novel that doesn’t just ask will they, but…should they?

Reviews

  • Great

    4
    By gold2.718
    Very enjoyable read.
  • Super readable, thought-provoking romantic comedy

    5
    By Cpw2125
    I finished this in a week on the Subway and it was so interesting and engaging I didn’t want to put it down. Interesting, realistic dialogue and great plotting- hard to believe this is a debut novel! Reads like a modern-day Jane Austen & great for fans of Nora Roberts or Emily Henry.
  • WOW

    5
    By Reader # 00
    I could not put it down. I stopped reading my other books when I started reading this one. Interweaving a white/back romance in these times was challenging along with the diversity of black life and what divides us yet pulls us together