The Good Girl - Mary Kubica

The Good Girl

By Mary Kubica

  • Release Date: 2014-07-29
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 4
4
From 2,201 Ratings

Description

Read the bestseller everyone is talking about!

"A cleverly constructed suspense thriller." —Chicago Tribune, Printer's Row

"A twisty, roller coaster ride of a debut. Fans of Gone Girl will embrace this equally evocative tale." —Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"Riveting psychological thriller."—Lisa Scottoline, New York Times bestselling author on Don't You Cry

"I've been following her for the past few days. I know where she buys her groceries, where she has her dry cleaning done, where she works. I don't know the color of her eyes or what they look like when she's scared. But I will."

One night, Mia Dennett enters a bar to meet her on-again, off-again boyfriend. But when he doesn't show, she unwisely leaves with an enigmatic stranger. At first Colin Thatcher seems like a safe one-night stand. But following Colin home will turn out to be the worst mistake of Mia's life.

When Colin decides to hide Mia in a secluded cabin in rural Minnesota instead of delivering her to his employers, Mia's mother, Eve, and detective Gabe Hoffman will stop at nothing to find them. But no one could have predicted the emotional entanglements that eventually cause this family's world to shatter.

An addictively suspenseful and tautly written thriller, The Good Girl is a propulsive debut that reveals how even in the perfect family, nothing is as it seems.

More Praise

"Kubica's powerful debut…will encourage comparisons to Gone Girl."—Publishers Weekly, starred review

"A high-intensity thriller, a psychological puzzle that will keep readers on their toes."—BookPage

Read the New York Times bestselling follow-up novel Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica.

Look for Mary's latest complex and addictive tale of deceit and obsession, Don't You Cry.

Order your copies today!

Reviews

  • Great twist!

    5
    By TT_am
    Great twist ending!
  • Sorry I wasted my time reading this

    1
    By TeeeDeee
    One star is generous. The author is clearly a novice who fails to put her idea for the story into words that make a believable plot. And on top of that, it’s racist and filled with stereotypes and an anti-abortion message. This book is the opposite of sophisticated writing.
  • Slow and slightly boring

    2
    By Lamppost48
    I love Mary Kubicas work but this just didn’t do it for me there wasn’t a major thrill at any point and it just felt as though it dragged on for much longer than it needed to.
  • 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼

    4
    By amandax345
    Great book!!! Good for fans of Gone Girl or Fresh!
  • Huge plot twist.

    5
    By •________________•
    It’s a really captivating story. This is one of the few books that I would do anything to be able to read for the first time again. Definitely going to buy the actual book so I can add to my collection. It’s worth the read, absolutely worth it.
  • Great read!

    5
    By mhh24**
    Couldn’t stop reading!
  • Great read!

    5
    By Nandtg
    I enjoy the author’s writing style. She keeps you on the hook but it doesn’t feel like it drags on. I thought I had it figured out early on, (I was partly correct) until the very end!Probably my favorite by her thus far. On to her next one now!
  • Loved it

    4
    By PWalker2014
    Didn’t think I’d like the back and forth of the storyline but it got me intrigued.
  • Suspenseful

    4
    By Oda Gene
    Liked it a lot but that last revelation was too much.
  • Love

    5
    By Kmoten
    One of the best books I’ve read in a while!