Wuthering Heights. Agnes Grey (Annotated) - Emily Brontë

Wuthering Heights. Agnes Grey (Annotated)

By Emily Brontë

  • Release Date: 2015-05-18
  • Genre: Romance


The ebook «Wuthering Heights. Agnes Grey» from Animedia Company contains two novels of the Brontë sisters, Emily (Ellis Bell) and Anne (Acton Bell), and «Biographical Notice of Ellis and Acton Bell», by their sister Charlotte Brontë (Currer Bell). The ebook is introducted by Mrs. Humphry Ward (Mary Augusta Ward).

«Wuthering Heights» is Emily Brontë’s only novel and is now widely regarded as a classic of English literature. Wuthering Heights is the name of the Yorkshire farmhouse where the story unfolds. The book’s core theme is the destructive effect of jealousy and vengefulness both on the jealous or vengeful individuals and on their communities.

«Agnes Grey» is the debut novel of English author Anne Brontë. The novel follows Agnes Grey, a governess, as she works within families of the English gentry. Scholarship and comments by Anne’s sister Charlotte Brontë suggest the novel is largely based on Anne Brontë’s own experiences as a governess for five years. Like her sister Charlotte’s novel «Jane Eyre», it addresses what the precarious position of governess entailed and how it affected a young woman.